Friday 5th of April 2019

Sweden’s Timmy Hansen claimed first blood in the 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship by setting the first ever quickest qualifying time on Yas Marina Circuit’s World RX track in Abu Dhabi.

Hansen led Q1 race four from the front and even though he dropped behind Latvia’s Janis Baumanis by taking his joker one lap earlier than the Team STARD driver, Hansen won the race and beat his Team Hansen MJP team mate Kevin Hansen to P1 in the classification.

Just a fraction of a second behind Kevin Hansen, Finland’s Niclas Gronholm finished second to Timmy Hansen in race four and was third quickest, following the GRX Taneco driver setting the quickest time in the first ever practice session for World RX in the Middle East. Germany’s Timo Scheider chased Kevin Hansen in race three and was fourth quickest, in front of Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud, the Monster Energy RX Cartel man the winner of the first ever rallycross race in Abu Dhabi. Sweden’s Anton Marklund, the GC Kompeition driver, pulled off an around-the-outside move at the first corner and won race three. He completed the top six.

Latvia’s Reinis Nitiss lost ground with a puncture on the third GRX Taneco Hyundai i20 and Belgium’s Guillaume De Ridder was unable to start Q1 due to a technical problem with the GCK Academy Renault Clio.

Find full results here.


Share this story on Facebook Share this story on Twitter